We All Are Imperfect, End of Discussion Period!

Driscoll1

The announcement of Mark Driscoll’s resignation from Mars Hill Church has spread out across the nation of the United States of America.  His resignation is good news!

Good news, how come?

(For the full story on Mark Driscoll’s resignation go to: http://www.relevantmagazine.com/slices/mark-driscoll-resigns-mars-hill)

Before I dive into giving my own point.  I truly endorsed what Mark Driscoll said in his own statement:

I readily acknowledge I am an imperfect messenger of the gospel of Jesus Christ. There are many things I have confessed and repented of, privately and publicly, as you are well aware. Specifically, I have confessed to past pride, anger and a domineering spirit.

I do not want to be the source of anything that might detract from our church’s mission to lead people to a personal and growing relationship with Jesus Christ.

I does feel much related to his struggling  of his inner soul where he sensed there are great needs of inner healing which is one of the cores in the spiritual journey of God.  There are numerous charges being brought against him.   His situation brought me kind of flashback to 11/29/12 where the day darkness has descended on me.   I lost everything in my life: marriage, my fruitful ministry within Deaf ministry in one small community church, my good paying salary career job, my car, my apartment and my precious Shetland Sheepdog Liberty.

My twelve years of battling with deadly disease which is my addiction to alcoholism, including doing many unthinkable things in my life!  I led a double life and I was living in dark secret.  In reality, I was living in untreated pains where it was truly unbearable to me.  It is where my turning point in my life truly began on 11/29/12 which brought me blessing in the eyes of God which brought me into deep of my hole of my soul.

It is the true beginning of my inner healing!  It is no wonder Jesus emphasized as he said:

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.~Matthew 5:3 (ESV)

The poor in spirit are those who recognize they are in need of God’s help, it emphasizes about those who confess their spiritual bankruptcy.

One of most tragic things I have witnessed within churches, the congregation like to judge others hassle even their own pastor based on their wrongdoing.  I do understand clearly how the wrongdoing has hurt their heart and breach the trustworthy.  There are times of anger, sadness, bitterness and shame, but unfortunately some of them will not move on and learn to let it go and let God.  Forgiveness is one of the most importance parts of inner healing progress!

Mark Driscoll confessed publicly and he acknowledged that he is imperfect servant for God and he senses, he need to renovate his spiritual growth in the presence of God.

If I see Mark Driscoll in person, I would give him brotherly hugs and would tell him:

“I feel you and I was there before and you have my full support.”

I do strongly believe that Mark Driscoll’s resignation will breath him new life in the presence of God will brings him with new dreams and visions like I did!

One thing Mark and I have much in common, we are victim of character violence.  When I went into dark period, people out there have been spreading wild rumors and many false stories about me.  It is true intention to make me look much worse, which is above from my originated story of what I did wrong in my life.  One biggest advantage is I am able to see who is true and false friends are.  I got to say it LOUD, sorry folk!  I forgave those who did damage to my reputation, I saw how God continues to bless me because I seek God with my whole heart.

If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face an turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. ~2 Chronicles 7:14 (ESV)

I wanted to make it very clear, I took responsibility for what I did in the past, I am thankful God forgave me and has been slowly restoring me into being godly man.

Let me ask you, what would you do as being a true friend to those who did wrong things?

If you spread rumors, gossip and distorted theories to others and how would God feel when He sees you said things are completely not true.

I am kindly asking you to quit committing character violence so instead pray and provide with godly support.  It is okay to be upset, angry, and disappointed, but do not let it take over your soul.  The best medication is simple: Let it go, Let God!

God be with you!

Leave a comment